In-Depth: “Chip Chrome & The-Monotones”


Benjamin Ponce De Leon, Reporter

The NBHD is one of my favorite bands, and their most recent album is worth taking a closer look at. Going more In-depth with The Neighbourhood’s most recent album, “Chip Chrome and The Mono-Tones” (CCTMT), there’s a lot to uncover. “Chip Chrome and The Mono-Tones” was released on September 25, 2020 and is the 4th studio album that The NBHD released alongside “I Love you, Wiped Out!, and Hard To Imagine The Neighbourhood Ever Changing”. 


The album consists of 11 songs, with a total runtime of 31 minutes and 41 seconds. The album takes a step away from the more darker black and white tone that The NBHD had set themselves up to be with past albums. CCTMT introduces more vibrant and uplifting lyrics and sounds, it’s more light-hearted compared to prior songs. 


With all of that in mind, there’s also some songs that still very slightly cling onto the old feeling that The NBHD first established. If you’re a die-hard NBHD fan like me, you’ll still recognize certain moody sounds in some of their songs. My personal rankings, and the rankings I would recommend for their songs from best to worst are:

  1. Devils Advocate
  2. Lost In Translation
  3. Hell or High Water
  4. Cherry Flavoured
  5. Pretty Boy
  6. Middle of Somewhere
  7. Tobacco Sunburst
  8. Silver Lining
  9. BooHoo
  10. The Mono-Tones
  11. Chip Chrome (technically an intro and not a song)

They also released a deluxe version of the album, simply called Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones Deluxe on December 17, 2020. The deluxe album adds 4 additional songs, with my personal ranking of

  1. Stargazing
  2. Here We Go Again
  3. Over the Influence
  4. The Shining

With a total of 14 genuine songs to listen to, I highly recommend listening to it if your into the R&B rock genre, like I am.