A-League Ends in Close Loss; Looking Ahead to State


Jake Reed, Spear Contributor

The season for the Arapahoe girls swim and dive team is nearing a close after a thrilling duel at the A-League finals last Saturday. The Warriors gave an enormous effort, losing to Cherry Creek by a mere 10 points. Both teams one-upped each other throughout the meet, leaving the other teams of the Centennial League in the dust.

Also, many new records were broken including a 500 freestyle race by Ella Moynihan, who broke the pool record, the team record, and the league record with a time of 4:54.37. Also, both the 200 freestyle relay and 400 freestyle relay records were broken. The 200 free team finished with a time of 1:38.05 (Payton Moody, Laurel Eiber, Anna Hansen, and Moynihan) and the 400 free team had a time of 3:31.78 (Delaney Smith, Eiber, Hansen, and Moynihan).

The following members of the swim and dive team will represent Arapahoe at the state tournament in Fort Collins on Feb. 13 and 14: Courtney Cissell, Morgan Conn, Laurel Eiber, Anna Hansen, Haley Igoe, Paige Johnson, Brenna McIlwaine, Payton Moody, Olivia Morley, Ella Moynihan, Maddi Ott, Mya Parsons, Mason Redmond, Katie Sanders, Shilan Schechter, Sarah Siyap, Delaney Smith, Marissa Tyler, and Taylor Verbsky.